Theresa’s Take – Take 13 “It’s Out of Bounds!”

July 5, 2011

With raised eyebrows, jugular veins protruding, and facial despair, the voice of Rocco, (my tennis coach) could be heard in slow dramatic motion, echoing off the 100-foot ceiling, “Theresa, don’t hit the ball, it’s out of bounds!” No, this is not a scene from “Nightmare on Wimbledon Street.” This was the last session of my Tennis in No Time Camp. Although I had no advantages, it was not all faulty. In the beginning we used a larger, softer ball that was easy to volley. Deuces and all led me to believe that I may be kin to Venus and Serena. The sessions that followed questioned my blood line, and had nothing but LOVE for Theresa.

Lucky me, this Tennis in No Time Camp was my prize from a company health and wellness lottery. It guaranteed to turn beginners into players in three weeks.  I’m sure this camp had much success until my court appearance. Rocco tried earnestly to teach me the basics: the serve, forehand, backhand, scoring and net play for singles and doubles. The problem was that every time a ball came near me or within running distance, I would attempt to hit it. Tennis is a game of control. You must control your racket, your return and your attitude. One session, I handled the racket so poorly Rocco jokingly asked if I had indulged in adult beverages before class. Yours truly was not led by the Williams’ family instinct to show him my backhand or tell him where he could strategically place the racket. His comment reminded me of my weight loss journey. I spent too many years out of control hitting at everything that came my way. Fad diets, fat compression belts, diet pills, I even purchased a vinyl sauna suit. My plan was to wear it to bed at night, so that I could wake up skinny. Thank God the YMCA and Weight Watchers brought my weight loss journey inbounds.

Each summer, the Y offers a free instructional tennis program for Rochester City youth ages 8-16 years old. The program, called Love 15, is designed to teach tennis skills, rules, etiquette, life skills, and positive values. The program runs for six weeks, July 5-August 12, Monday through Friday at three different locations – Genesee Valley Park, Edgerton Park and Baden Park. Contact Sam Chhoeun at 277-1654 or Sam@rochesterymca.org for information.

As luck would have it, Maury opened the envelope an announced that Richard Williams contributed no natural talent to my Tennis game. Since Major Wingfield now resides six feet below the lawn and can’t simplify the game anymore, I will have to follow Rocco’s suggestion to try tennis again on Wii. Ladies, Gents and Janet Jackson Wannabes, you just can’t win hitting at everything that comes your way.  If you are beyond the age requirements for the free tennis camp, and find yourself out of bounds with your health and fitness goals, consider the many exciting programs the YMCA has to offer.

Leave a comment